IT Infrastructure Library

Logics of Structure-Building Processes

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is a collection of pre-defined processes, functions and roles typically found in any IT infrastructure of medium and large enterprises. In five core volumes with currently 26 core processes, ITIL describes the components and processes of the life cycle of IT services (IT Service Management (ITSM)). A core requirement of the processes is measurability. The practical assignment of activities is based on roles and functions. These are merely best-practice suggestions that must be adapted to the needs of the company. Since 2013 ITIL has been a trademark of AXELOS, a joint venture between CAPITA and Cabinet Office.

ITIL Discipline ITIL Processes / ITIL Roles
Service Transition (Service-Überführung) Change Management Change-Evaluation Projektmgmt. (Trans. Planning & Support) Application-Development Release und Deployment Management Service-Validation & -Test Service Asset & Configuration Management Knowledge Management  
Change Manager Change Manager Projekt-Manager Anwendungs-Entwickler Release Manager Test-Manager Configuration Manager Knowledge Manager
Change Advisory Board (CAB) 
Emergency Change Advisory Board (ECAB) 
Service Operation (Service-betrieb) Event Management Incident Management Request Fulfilment Access Management Problem Management IT Oper. Control (Steuerung des IT-Betriebs) Facilities Management Application Management Technical Management
IT Operations Manager Incident Manager Incident Manager Access Manager Problem Manager IT Operations Manager Facilities Manager Anwendungs-system-Analytiker Technischer Analytiker
IT-Operator 1st Level Support   IT-Operator  
  2nd Level Support  
3rd Level Support  
Major Incident Team